Skip to content

A day in the life of a librarian

July 24, 2009

In January I took part in the Library Day in the Life project started by Librarian by Day, Bobbi Newman. The premise of the project is that librarians and library workers will blog about what they do on an average day. As a lot of librarians don’t have an average day most people choose to blog about their activities daily for a week. You can see my posts from the project listed under the librarydayinthelife tag.

As it has been such a success it’s running for a second time this year during the week beginning 27th July. I will be taking part again. And I’d encourage you to do the same. Why? Well here are a few things I got out of it:

  • In January I’d just started a new job but in the same library – the day in the life project was a great chance for me to chart that process.
  • Even six months down the line it’s good to go back and read what I was doing that week to see how my role is evolving. It’ll be even better to come back to it in six years time.
  • Reading about other people’s days gave me a real perspective on the vast range of roles librarians have. Even if you might have a similar job title and description your day to day activities can vary widely.
  • It’s a great advert for librarians. I mentioned in my post on the New Professionals conference that few people really understand what I do when I say I’m a librarian. If I tell people about what I get up to in the course of a week with these posts then they might have a better understanding of my role.

To take part yourself just follow the steps on the Library Day in the Life wiki.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2009 15:14

    Ooooh thanks for the reminder, think I’ll join in this time. I wanted to last time but never got round to it.

  2. July 24, 2009 21:48

    I’m looking forward to reading about your week!

  3. July 27, 2009 09:47

    Would love to join in, but the site is blocked by our firewall! :-(

    • July 27, 2009 10:08

      Hi Lesley,

      Here are the intstructions for how to take part:

      1. Create a PB Wiki account (it’s free)!
      2. Add your name, your job title (so we can see what you do at a glance) and a link to your blog.
      3. Start blogging.
      4. Tag your posts with librarydayinthelife.
      5. After your first blog post come back and edit this page to change your blog link to a link to your tagged posts.
      6. Add your Flickr photos or videos to the Group on Flickr

      If you do the blogging I’ll happily add your details to the wiki – let me know if you want me to do this.

      Emma

Leave a Reply

