Skip to content

Who is responsible for my CPD?

June 2, 2009

Laura has just started a new job as Deputy Manager of Staff Development at OULS (Oxford University Library Services). Listening to her talk about her new role has started me wondering who is responsible for my continuing professional development (CPD)?

It would be easy to say that the responsibility lies with staff development and leave it at that but I think it’s more complicated than this. For me there are at least two elements to continuing professional development.

The first is firmly in my own hands: it’s about engaging with the wider community, sharing and learning from each other’s experience. I do this by reading library blogs, following librarians on Twitter and keeping up to date with what seems to be an endless stream of literature on developments in education and the future of libraries.

The second relies much more on the efforts of the staff development team at my institution. They have a role to play in making my CPD possible by organising training in-house and providing funding for me to attend external events.

So ultimately I think the responsibility to engage and participate is my own and that my employer simply has a responsibility to act as a facilitator.

I’m just starting out in my career and I know that CPD is vitally important not only for my progression but also for my peace of mind. I feel with both elements of CPD that I mentioned above it really is true that you get back what you give. It seems to me that there quite a few people out there who enter a job full of enthusiasm but after a few years begin to stagnate feeling that they are going nowhere and learning nothing new. I wonder perhaps whether they need to take back the responsibility for their CPD and see how this can reinvigorate their work.

To check out Laura’s thoughts about her new role see the Oxford Staff Development blog

3 Comments leave one →
  1. libreaction permalink
    June 3, 2009 08:32

    Couldn’t agree more. I firmly believe that you yourself have to ensure you receive the CPD you need and when it’s a case of requiring funding for it, to argue for it in the strongest possible terms – it’s too important not to.

Trackbacks

  1. Who is responsible for my CPD? « OxfordStaffDev
  2. CILIP New Professionals Conference: Part Three « Organising Chaos

Leave a Reply

