Skip to content

Twitter quick links

March 17, 2009
tags:

I noticed something new in the sidebar of my Twitter homepage when I logged in this morning.

Twitter Sidebar

TwitterDictionary

At first I thought it was an interesting addition of a random definition from the Twitter dictionary. On closer inspection I discovered that it was a quick link of sorts to some of the extra functionality. So far there is just a link to the search feature and one to create a widget to embed your tweets on other sites. What next?

Phil Bradley has questioned whether it’s a precursor to the appearance of ads. I like to remain optimistic and hope that Twitter will remain ad free.

I’m not yet seeing another change which Phil comments on; the addition of some extra options in the menu bar at the top of the screen. With all the to-do about the changes to the Facebook homepage at the moment I wonder how this small ammendments to Twitter will go down…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 13:22

    There are definitely some changes taking place on Twitter. For the last day when I’ve loaded http://www.twitter.com the box where I usually enter my Tweet has been missing!

    There is quite a lot of “un-used” space on Twitter currently so I wouldn’t be at all surprised if they started using this for advertising. The problem is many people like Twitter because its interface is so simple and clutter free. Having adverts displayed (if they do it) will ultimately just annoy people.

  2. March 18, 2009 20:06

    A missing tweet box… that’s not good news.

    I compeltely agree re: the “un-used” space. I like the cleanliness of Twitter and would definitely be sad to lose it. There have been complaints among my friends that the new Facebook redesign has tried to be too much like Twitter. Heaven forbid Twitter ever becomes too much like Facebook.

Leave a Reply

